Book Challenges 2022, Reading Journal 2022, Uncategorized

Moving on Over and Weekly Wrap Up

Photo by 500photos.com on Pexels.com

I’m getting ready to start moving all of the Reading and Book Posts over to a new site so that I can get this one back to just my quilting. And speaking of my quilting, being settled finally here in the new house means that I’ve just about got my quilting stuff out of storage and set up so that I can get back to work! Yay!

With all that said, I’m still posting my Reading Week Wrap Up, here today at CMQ. This first week of January has seen me finish several great books, and a couple that were kind of meh.

Goodreads

This has been my favorite book so far. I’ve received the next one, A Court of Mist and Fury, in the mail, but I’m resisting starting it until I’ve finished at least one of the four I’m working on. I loved everything about this book. The characters, the setting, how the writing was crafted. I really felt that I could feel and see what was happening as the story unfolded, unlike the next book that I read. I loved the mix of high fantasy and romance, and the multiple layers of connections between the main character group. It was a truly enchanting read. Counted in CMQ SSF Challenge, 52 Weeks Bingo Challenge, 52 Books in 52 Weeks,

I was really disappointed with Jack of Shadows, as I truly have enjoyed other books by Zelazny, but this one just didn’t measure up. It truly read as if it were a first or second draft and not a final copy. It started out good, but by the middle of the book, I felt like we were just perfunctorily racing through the story, with little or no descriptions or true character development. I felt like it could have been so much more than it was. I enjoyed the storyline, and it was an interesting way to bring the end around as he did, but it just overall felt rushed. Counted In: This was a little book that I found on Kindle Unlimited. It was a quick, light hearted and fun read. Enough high fantasy, dragons (because who just doesn’t love having a talking dragon as one of the main characters??) and just enough Romance. The sexy scenes (Lesbian) were just enough without being terribly explicit, just the way that I like them best. I truly felt that I could see the relationship first and then the sex. The next books in the series are not “Unlimited” but I really liked the first one so I will be buying them over the next few months. Counted in: 52 Books in 52 Weeks Reading Challenge 2022,

This was a little book that I found on Kindle Unlimited. It was a quick, light hearted and fun read. Enough high fantasy, dragons (because who just doesn’t love having a talking dragon as one of the main characters??) and just enough Romance. The sexy scenes (Lesbian) were just enough without being terribly explicit, just the way that I like them best. I truly felt that I could see the relationship first and then the sex. The next books in the series are not “Unlimited” but I really liked the first one so I will be buying them over the next few months. Counted in: Queer Book Fun Challenge 2022, Reading Diversity Challenge 2022, Sapphic Book Bingo 2022, 52 Books in 52 Weeks Reading Challenge 2022,

Another Kindle Unlimited, that I had high hopes for, but was again disappointed. With so many 4+ star ratings from readers, I was disappointed that it didn’t catch my interest any more than it did. It was a wild ride across the galaxy, with lots of action (different battles), and the characters were interesting, but I never really felt like the action had a sense of purpose leading up to any sort of main problem or conflict to resolve. I enjoyed it enough that I might read the next in the series to see if I like the next one any better. It wasn’t a waste of my time, but it certainly has not been one of favorites for this year. Counted in: Queer Book Fun Challenge 2022, Reading Diversity Challenge 2022, Sapphic Book Bingo 2022, 52 Books in 52 Weeks Reading Challenge 2022,

Another stupendous book! I was so hooked it I read it one day. I can’t wait to go pick up the next one in the series this week on my library run. This one was recommended to me by a good friend, and boy was she right on the money with this one. A great fantasy and romance, I was instantly transported to Prague and to the fantasy world that coexists along ours. Spectacular characters, amazing description, and great exposition that was woven in and out of the events of this first in a three part series, and while the first book wraps up in the end, it leaves you tantalizing wanting to know what happens next to Karou and Akiva. Counted in: CMQ SSF Challenge, 52 Weeks Bingo Challenge, 52 Books in 52 Weeks, European Reading Challenge 2022

What I am Reading

These are the books that I’ve currently started on, one beside the bed, one beside my chair and yet another in my bag for waiting in the car, appts and so on. I’m really enjoying all three of them, and expect that they will be done in a couple of days. Dreadful Young Ladies, has some amazing but creepy short stories in them, and I absolutely adore the first one, Mrs. Sorenson and the Sasquatch. Dog On It, was something I grabbed out of my local library, and appears that it will be a fun little detective story. House of Earth and Blood, I also grabbed from the local library and it is just as addicting as A Court of Thorns and Roses. I suspect it will be on my finished list by the end of the day or tomorrow at the latest. I also have a whole bunch of Unlimiteds in my Kindle, that I am sure will get a work out as well this week, although I haven’t started any of them at the moment.

Add on top of that, there is the reading that I will be doing this week with my son as we homeschool, Sees Behind Trees by Michael Dorris and Before Columbus: The Americas of 1491 by Charles C. Mann. This is part of our reading through the Oh Freedom! Social Studies Curriculum. As you can see my week will be filled with books and fun.

1 thought on “Moving on Over and Weekly Wrap Up”

Leave a comment